Portes-Ouvertes

2 weeks ago I had the opportunity to spend a Saturday working at the high school where I am an assistant at their annual Open House. Along with the other English teachers that I work with, 2 of my best students joined me to sit behind a table covered with posters my sophomore students had made during a  unit on American Prom and answer questions from prospective students (middle-schoolers) and their parents about what, exactly, the language assistant does!

The students were a big help in answering questions about the exchange programs to Canada, the US, the UK, and Australia that are organized by the high school and which they have had the opportunity to go on, and I had a blast explaining my role as language assistant to parents! 

20160318_145831.jpg

representing America!

 

20160318_152219.jpg

My stand- full of Prom posters!

20160319_135129

my helpers!

20160319_143956.jpg

English teacher team!!

I used props- including my Boston Red Sox hat, various magazines about the English-speaking world, postcards of New York State, and a calendar of the Adirondacks…but what really drew people middle school students over to our table was the packet of Jolly Ranchers I had brought from Delmar! There were a lot of students running around showing each other their multicolored tongues (sorry, parents.)

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below! 

 

Leave a comment